“Mobo Unsung: Class Of 2022,” Commemorate Their 25th Anniversary With The Compilation

With The Compilation "Mobo Unsung: Class Of 2022," Mobos Commemorate Their 25th Anniversary.

The 2022 MOBO Awards are quickly approaching, and this year is a bit unique. Since MOBO’s CEO and founder Kanya King decided to unite the industry and honor black British music and its producers 25 years ago, they naturally want to do something to commemorate the anniversary.

The event this year, which will take place on November 30, will undoubtedly be a major one, so they decided it would be appropriate to put together a compilation that highlighted the up-and-comers. The culmination of a year-long partnership between the MOBO Awards and Marshall Amps is the compilation MOBO UnSung: Class of 2022, which showcases the work of the MOBO UnSung arm of their operations.

The tracklist incorporates songs from 10 of the MOBO Unsung contenders for this year, including Genesis Elijah, Mace The Great, AE, Crae Wolf, and many others.

Speaking on the anniversary and the compilation, Kanya King says: “MOBO continues to provide a unique talent platform and push for more representation, both on stage and behind the scenes across the creative industries, and crucially through MOBO UnSung, our development program for emerging talent at a crucial time in their careers.  It will be rewarding to watch the musicians in this year’s MOBO Unsung Class of 2022 leave their musical imprint on the world. These artists are among the best that the UK’s local scene has to offer. To be able to announce the release of the first compilation album from MOBO UnSung, supported by Marshall Amplification as part of our five-year collaboration, is incredibly exciting and appropriate in this year marking the 25th anniversary of the MOBO Awards. Let’s open the door of chance for those with talent who have the will to prevail, the ambition to succeed, and the drive to realize their full potential.

On Wednesday, November 30, the OVO Arena in Wembley will host the MOBO Awards of 2022. The nominees for this year will soon be announced.

Scroll to Top